Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Giveaways: Every Last Cuckoo and Royal Blood

Recently I received two books for review (one solicited and one unsolicited) and after starting both and reading a chapter or two, I decided that neither one was for me. Fortunately, I have diverse readers and I'm sure some of you would enjoy these books.

So, here are the summaries:

Every Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy --

"Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they—with Sarah—nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her."

Royal Blood by Rona Sharon --

"In the Tudor Court of 1518, your friends and enemies can be one and the same...During the annual celebration of the Order of the Garter, Sir Michael Devereaux arrives in King Henry VIII's court on a mission for his benefactor. The celebration's endless feats and sumptuous women delight the charismatic newcomer, who becomes captivated by the enigmatic Princess Renee of France. But evil, it seems, has followed Michael to the court. Shortly after his arrival, an unknown killer claims several victims, including the Queen's lady-in-waiting, and the powerful Cardinal Wolsey asks Michael to help with the investigation. As he searches for the killer, Michael is haunted by disturbing images of the victims - flashes of violence that lead him to doubt his own sanity. Michael soon realizes that the key to solving the crime is connected to both the Pope's Imperial vault in Rome and a mystery from Michael's own past - revealing a secret that is so damning, it could forever alter the future of mankind."

This is going to be an easy one. The first person to comment and request each of these gets them (U.S. and Canada only, please). They are paperback copies and are not ARCs. Also, I committed to try and get Royal Blood reviewed so please don't request it if you aren't willing to try and review it. I will pass on the contact info for the publicist with the book.

Best of luck and speed,

1 comment:

  1. Are these still available Kristen? If so, I'm interested in both of them!! Feel free to send me an email . . . tiftalksbooks at gmail dot com